Random Diary: Sandstorms and Laptops

Today started like a normal day. I woke up in the morning, washed, dressed, went down the elevator, jumped into the car, drove to work, got stuck in the traffic at the gate, parked the car near my office building, and finally punched in. What broke this routine, was a call from one of my colleagues, who had changed his car’s windshield, and lost his entry sticker in the process. Thus, he was not able to enter through the security gate, and had asked me to go and get him. I got out of my office, went back to my car, got out of the gate, let my friend hop in, went back through the gate, parked the car again, although in a different parking slot, and finally got back into my office, again.

The wind blew strong, and was only getting stronger each minute. I was supposed to issue work permits to various contractors who were doing construction works at different locations throughout the complex. As I signed each permit, it was my responsibility as an issuer to caution the permit receiver, who was usually the contractor team’s foreman, about the unstable weather, and that he should stop the work immediately if the conditions got worse.

That, as it turned out, was a mistake.

After I signed the last permit and returned to my building, the weather got really bad. I heard the roar of the wind as soon as I sat in my office. So I jumped to window, and couldn’t see anything, yikes!

I ran to my car, and slowly went from location to location, taking away my signed permits, and stopping the contractors, who seemed to be oblivious to the blinding sandstorm, and were going nonchalantly through their task. Luckily, I was able to get all the permits before any accidents could happen.

The rest of the work day was quieter than usual, thanks to the flying army of dirt particles outside. This meant that I had some free time to work on my novel. And after a couple hundred words, it was time to head back home.

I had planned to make a trip to the next city with my wife for a doctor appointment, but it was also cancelled for the same reason that made me collect all those damned permits earlier. And you know what that means, right? Yup, unscheduled free time, the best kind of free time (or the worst depending on how cool you are.)

I have been searching the internet for a cheap and light laptop that I wanted to use as a writing machine exclusively. But since today was the day of spontaneity, I decided to fix an old-small laptop that I used to write on, but had fell down the stairs one time, and broke its screen.

I got the small devil from a dusty drawer, and went to the computer store. Not only was replacing the screen cheap, it was really fast, I don’t know why I’ve waited this long to fix it.

So here I am now, writing this post from the tiny laptop, looking at my words through a brand new screen, baby. That’s right!

Well, this is awkward. I’ve run out of the past, and am writing in the present right now. How do you write a diary entry when you’ve reached the present time? I’m writing. I’m writing. I am writing.

Still writing… Need to go to bed… have to work tomorrow…

Ok, enough of that, or this. Anyway, now that I have this tiny devil, I hope it will allow me to squeeze more writing hours into my day, which would bring me closer to dominating the world of novels.

Peace.

5 thoughts on “Random Diary: Sandstorms and Laptops

  1. Laughing about this! As I read about your tiny little devil, all I could think about was, “Darn…I really need to find someone who can repair my tiny IBM ThinkPad….I miss the little devil”!!

    Thanks for visiting my page, by the way. 🙂
    (p.s. you might just be the greatest writer! only time will tell!!!)

    • I just love these tiny laptops! Thank you for taking the time to visit my humble blog. And you have my deepest gratitude for your words of encouragement. All I’m aiming for now is to be able to make the same announcement that you made on your blog; that would be an awesome day indeed. I might even video myself dancing around the house that day, if I’m still sane, that is. 🙂

      • {{{ doin’ the h a p p y d a n c e h a p p y d a n c e happy dance }}} 😀 !!!

        I really look forward to those days when I take a break; yours is one of the blogs I will be “reading for rest”! I do like my current HP laptop, but I’m a walker and this darn thing is heavy! My IBM ThinkPad (circa, like, 1998-2000?) weighs all of about 2.5 lbs and at about the size of a spiral notebook, it fits right in one of my larger handbags!

        Might I ask what your plans are for publishing? Will you be going the traditional route, or will you be considering self-publishing?

      • Well… I think it’s way too early for me to be pondering that question, even though I do think about it every single day :D. So I’ll say this: If, or when, I do finish a manuscript that I feel is publishable, I’ll try my luck with the traditional route, just to see what happens. But I don’t think that I have any chance other than to self-publish, especially with my first work. Either way, the process will involve a daily routine of dancing 😀 !!

      • (mind’s eye seeing Charlie Brown’s pup, Snoopy, doing the happy dance with placard around neck reading, “M.Gate”!! 😀 )

        I’ve thought about submitting traditionally, but:
        A) Afraid of rejection
        B) Terrified of rejection
        C) Petrified of rejection – and –
        D) Wouldn’t know how to begin!

Leave a comment