Loving The Assassin’s Apprentice

I was going to write “So far” at the end of the post’s title. But I know that I’ll like this book all the way to the end. Robin Hobb rocks, man!

By the way, I’ve just ordered a Kindle Paperwhite to speed up my reading. Always wanted to buy one. And this seems like a good time to finally do it.

I thought, having read the book already, that it was going to be a tedious task. But I couldn’t be more wrong. I’ve read the Farseer Trilogy a long time ago, and my English was way bellow the level of such book, it still is. Add to that the fact that I was too lazy to look up the words that I didn’t understand at the time, which were a lot, and you would see how I’m experiencing the book in a whole new light.

One thing I didn’t forget about Ms. Hobb’s writing, and I still appreciate it now, is how she uses her words to describe a scene. Whenever I thought about her books, during the past ten or so years, I’ve always remembered how she used to describe the smells or odors of her scenes. More than often, Fitz, the main character and narrator of the story, would write about how a certain place “smelled” to him. I found that it always made me “feel” like I was there with him. Of course, if I didn’t understand the word that she associated the scent of the place with, the effect didn’t work for me. But still, most of the time, it really worked, and added another dimension to my visualization of here scenes.

I have a lot to say when it comes to Ms. Hobb’s books. But I’m in no hurry to blurt it all out now; I have a long journey ahead of me, till I reach the Fool’s Assassin.

Peace.

Leave a comment