Wishful Thinking

You write better when it’s coming from your heart, when there are feelings behind the keystrokes.

That’s why I want to write about what I feel right now–not so masculine, I know.

I really wish I could escape the Rat Race. I don’t want to be filthy rich. And I sure don’t want to be bathing in golden coins. I just want to be free from the clutches of 9-to-5.

Since I started working, my life has been simply as follows:

  • Going to work.
  • At work.
  • Coming back from work.
  • Recovering after work.
  • Sleeping early to go back to work.

And it’s driving me crazy. Having so little free time makes me feel like I’m always on a rush. If you stood in front of my house, stalking me–you creep–to see how often I go in and out during the day, your eyes will not be able to keep up. Because that’s how fast I’m moving, trying to make the most of what little time I got, before I have to go back to my prison.

Maybe I feel this way because I don’t like my job–no one does. But what can I do about it? It’s not like I can simply turn a corner and find the job of my dreams! especially in this day and age. That’s why I’ve been planning an escape lately. And by planning, I mean daydreaming whenever I have a rough day. Still, I was able to learn a couple of things about the corporate prison:

  • No one will ever tell you how to escape. If someone does tell you something, ignore that sucker; if he really knew how to escape, he would’ve done so already.
  • You have to make your own escape plan and carry it through.
  • Mimicking those who escaped before you will not guarantee your freedom. The security systems are always changing. Old breaches are being patched, while new openings are being discovered.
  • Luck plays a major rule in your success.
  • And If you don’t have a plan for your life outside the prison, you will find yourself back inside before you can even blink.

I would like to know if any of you is also planning an escape, or if you feel my way of thinking is childish.

15 thoughts on “Wishful Thinking

  1. Sometimes, before I was made redundant, life would feel so droll and samey. I would panic that that was all my life was going to be: school, work, death. It scared me beyond anything. I am in a very lucky position where I can now write full time, but I see how work affects my friends and family, how completely and utterly draining it is.

    Although I can’t help you, I do know how you feel and the only thing I can advise is to try and find something you love and work towards it with everything you have. A lot easier said then done, I know, it’s exhausting just getting through a normal work day, to then have to turn around and do stuff we want to achieve our dreams.

    Good luck, though, for whatever you do 🙂

      • Sign me up! Be prepared to be and do everything for everyone. My whole family. Just saying.

        I made an announcement today (I did this for Nov Nano) that the neglect and ignoring shall commence!

  2. I actually like my job alright but lately I’ve been having some really big ideas about what I want to do with my blog / writing / ideas, and it makes it hard to focus at work! I know what I do at work is important for the job, but it’s not important to my life like my current projects are, so it’s definitely a challenge to stay focused and not daydream about the next step I will take!

  3. I tried to escape my job back in January, putting all manner of things in place to make it a reality. I got a big, huge, resounding “NO!” So I went back to the drawing board. I’m now kicking the pants off the job, putting in effort I didn’t care to give mere weeks ago. Hopefully I’ll be on the list for moving somewhere else soon, but until then I might as well give a damn. I can’t change where I am now anyway.

    • At least you tried. I’m still trying to figure out what type of drawing board I should get. 😀
      I really hope that your second attempt will be the one that sets you free.

  4. The idea of a 9-5 job terrifies me, and I’ve done everything in my power not to end up in that kind of working environment. I’ve worked a number of jobs — sometimes up to four at once with odd hours — but I have always made sure that it is something I love to do. I know not all people are so fortunate — and I don’t know that my luck will hold out forever, but I’m doing my best to avoid it by not entering that world at all.

    • I hope you never have to find out how really terrifying it is. The difficulty of escaping the 9-5 trap arises from having too many obligations that turns you into a slave to that paycheck at the end of the month. What really scares me, is getting used to it after a couple of years, turning into a drone that keeps having the same day over, and over, and over… Until I wake up one day, old and too tired to give a damn about my lost hopes and dreams. (I went a little bit dramatic here! :D)

      • Yes, that’s what I fear. Being a slave to the paycheck. Putting off the things that I truly love until it’s too late.

        I’d rather be a poor, half-starved writer than suffer a lifetime of 9-5 monotony.

      • If it wasn’t for my beloved wife and young daughter, I would have gone to my boss, shoved my resignation letter in his mouth, and walked out of the security gate–by doing the limbo dance under the drop-arm gate. So yes! if you can keep yourself out of the prison, then keep doing what you do.

        I’m doing what I can to escape. And if my current plan actually succeeds, it’s going to be one of the funniest stories of the century. -__-

Leave a Reply

