Writing Practice: The Last Species – Part4

Greetings, my dear fans.

I thank you in advance for all the wonderful letters and gifts that I’ll receive from you when I’m rich and famous… Why are you laughing?

Anyway, here is the fourth installment in this horror/action/don’t-know-yet story. I hope you enjoy reading this rubbish 🙂

Here are the previous parts: Part1, Part2, and Part3.

So, until I come up with a brilliant story that will knock your socks off, let’s read this story instead:

******************

“The name is David, by the way” said the nurse as I handed him his phone. “Mike” I said. The nurse on my left joined in on the introduction party “I’m Philip, call me Phil” and he shook my hand. I discovered in the next five minutes that these two nurses were very cool guys; we got along very well, which was strange to do in such a short time.

“No! If it was in the water, how would you explain the crazy lions chasing after my brothers in Africa?” said David.

“Well… OK, fine! Then it must be airborne” said Philip.

“I don’t think so” I said, “It seems like all the animals went nuts on the same day, all of ’em. What kind of airborne virus would hit all around the world in one day?”

“The Alien kind” said Philip in a dramatic tone.

“I wouldn’t be surprised if this actually was the work of aliens” I said seriously.

Both nurses stared at me blankly, and then we all burst into laughter. These two men didn’t really seem to care that much about the death waiting for us right outside the hospital. And I can’t deny that I had fun cracking jokes about our situations with them.

We stopped talking when an old, Asian woman approached us. She started scolding us, in her own language, when Phil jumped down from the counter and went to her saying “No, grandma! For the twenty-thousandth time, I don’t understand what you’re saying” Then he put one arm around her shoulder, and held her hand with his other arm, and walked away with her saying “I’m going to lock the door this time! No! Don’t try Korean sweet talk with me…” and they disappeared into the corridor. I shot a questioning look at David, and he smiled before answering “That’s Phil’s grandmother, she doesn’t speak English. I guess Phil’s lucky she got sick today and he had to bring her with him. Otherwise she would be dead, that old lady never stays put.”

“She seemed angry” I said.

“Well… that would be because she doesn’t want Phil hanging out with a black man, or at least that’s what I think. Phil gives a different explanation every time she shouts at me”

“You two go way back?” I asked; don’t know why I blurted that out.

“We studied nursing together, been hanging out ever since”

The sound of broken glass, a woman scream, shots fired, and dogs barking brought me back to the reality I was living now. A woman came running and screaming from the corridor. She was about to shout “Help m-” when a dog jumped at her, bringing her down on her face, and was ripping away at the back of her neck. Everyone in the cafeteria went crazy, and ran hysterically to the corridor, away from the direction the women came from, deeper inside the hospital.

David and I were in the middle of the running group. We didn’t get far before the dogs were picking the unlucky humans at the back of our horde. I could hear men and women screaming for help before their words faded away into pure screams of pain and agony. The corridor ended into a right turn, and I was about to follow the turning crowd, when David grabbed my arm, “From here!” he said. To his left was the emergency exit, he pushed the door open, and I followed him up the stairs, some people followed us, bringing a couple of dogs with them.

I’ve never ran this much before, and David wasn’t the most fit nurse I’ve ever seen either. But what helped us survive the climb was the three dead men behind us, who bought us the time to reach the second floor. And thank God for the one-way emergency door. I was on the floor gasping for air, and David wasn’t in a better shape.

“We’re safe here” said the nurse, still breathing heavy, “The dogs will not be able to open the emergency exits”

“What… What about the elevators?” I said. And we both couldn’t help but smile at each other for the stupid question, until we heard the beep sound from the elevator next to us.

We both turned to the elevator, and watched the door open, I don’t know if it was me, or if this was the slowest elevator door I’ve ever seen. We weren’t close enough to see inside the elevator. But we were able to find out that we were in trouble when the dog came out, carrying an arm between its teeth, with blood still dripping from it. The dog snarled at us, dropping the arm in the process. I was barely on my feet when it jumped at me. A shotgun was fired, and I was covered in blood and dog brain, I think.

The shooter was Phil, he moved to the dead dog, and fired at him again, and again, and again, until there were no more shots left. David, who was on his back the whole time, got up and went to his friend “Are you crazy? You’ve wasted the ammo on one-” He stopped mid-sentence. Philip was crying, he spat on the dog, and started pounding it with the shotgun.

“Yo, yo, calm down, man!” said David as he restrained his friend, who struggled against him fiercely; I was still on the floor, my face covered in blood. “What’s wrong, Phil?” asked David.

Philip stopped struggling, tears were still pouring from his eyes. He cleared his throat, and spoke in anger “The fuckin’ dogs… They killed grandma!”

To be continued…

***********************

That’s it for today, folks. You all have a nice day now. And catch you all tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

