Writing Pratcice: The Last Species – Part 2

Greetings, my dear fans,

Today the weather was nice. And the greatest novelist who ever lived is happy, when the weather is nice.

So I thought, since I’m happy, why don’t I spoil everyone else’s happiness, by posting another episode of this grim story 🙂

So, without further ado, let’s get down to the story, shall we?

*******

Linda is dead. I left her on the couch, unconscious, with blood all over her. I don’t know why I bothered to call 911.

“Hello! listen the animals are going crazy around here, there is a little girl across the street, she needs help… What? No! The girl is inside the house and about ten freakin’ dogs broke in! She needs help now”

I gave the operator the address, and hung up the damn phone.

My face was pushing against the window again. The street was clear, almost looked peaceful, as if nothing had happened, if it wasn’t for the dead cat, and the broken door of Frank’s house. He was dead now, his wife also, and Linda… Was she awake when the dogs broke in? I felt a sudden choke, as if an apple was trying to come out of my throat. The little girl was in my arms, I held her close, she was still breathing…

I don’t know what had gotten into me. I don’t know what was I thinking when I picked up the comic books boxes, one by one, and dragged the table, away from the door.

I walked slowly down the stairs, stood in front of the main door, and took a deep breath. The baseball bat was still on the ground where I first found Linda. I’ll have to move slowly, get the bat, then check up on linda from the nearest window.

I slowly opened the main door. The area was still clear, so I took small steps out, and headed for my bat.

I was half way across the street, when three dogs came dashing out of Frank’s house toward me. Their eyes were wide open and fixed on me in a way that froze me for a second in fear. Then I turned sharply and ran as fast as I could toward the open door of my building.

The dogs were silent, I could only hear the sound of many paws, hitting the asphalt behind me.

I was almost at the door, when a cat jumped at me from the back of a plastic trash can. It dug its teeth in my right leg, just bellow the knee. I screamed from the pain, and was forced to stop, which was something I couldn’t afford right now.

In a second I was on my face. The three dogs jumped at me simultaneously. I curled on myself, trying to bend my hands in a way that would cover the back and front of my head. The cat was still biting my right leg. And one of the dogs was pulling my left foot with its teeth, while the other two were trying to get to my neck.

I was losing the feeling in my hands, from the continuous biting. My strength was fading away with all the blood loss.

I was done for, going to be eaten by three dogs, and a small cat.

Then I heard a gunshot, and the pressure on my left leg eased. Another gunshot, and the cats teeth loosened their grip on my right knee. The remaining dogs let go of me, and, apparently, went to attack the shooter. I heard two more gunshots.

“Sir? Sir! Can you hear me? Are you alright?”

I rolled over slowly to my back, and nodded with my head, my eyes were still closed.

“Hal! Call for an ambulance, and keep your eyes open. John? Hey, John!”

John’s voice came from a distance “We got another one alive here, she needs treatment, now!”

She?

I opened my eyes immediately, and tried to sit up. The old officer grabbed my shoulders, “Don’t push yourself, son. You’ve lost a lot of blood, and you’re cut badly”

I was surprised how hard it was to speak “Th… The girl, Linda…” I was pointing at Frank’s house. The officer was keen enough to understand “If you’re talking about the girl who lives there, she’s alive. But we’ll have to get her to a hospital fast. And you need medical attention as well. Just lie down until the ambulance arrive”

I had to pay, for my sudden movement, in pain. I was on my back, staring at the sky. Those animals were really going to eat me… But why? What is all this?

My thoughts were interrupted by the increasing sound of the incoming ambulance. I was carried on a stretcher, and laid inside the car. I looked to my right, and Linda was there, unconscious.

The old officer closed the back doors, and banged on it to inform the driver that he can go.

We barely started moving, when we heard gunshots from where we left the officers. One of the nurses screamed “Oh my god! No!”

I pulled my self up, and looked through the back window.

There, in the middle of the street, just right where we were a moment ago, was an Indian tiger, holding the officer’s neck between its teeth.

To be continued…

*******

Leave a Reply

