I hate it when it comes to this

Today, I was writing part 3 of the Knight and the Crazy Old Man. But after writing 800 words or so, I got stuck. I didn’t know where to go with the story. And that is because I was writing on the spot, without any prior outline or plan.

I’m in a dilemma here. If I write like this, without any plan for the story, I enjoy the fact that I’m discovering the story as I’m writing it, but I always get stuck. I have tried to write several stories, before I started this blog, and I haven’t finished any of them.

Now if I plan the story ahead of time, I have a feeling that the writing process will be much easier. But I also think it will be more boring. Because I already know everything.

Maybe I’m wrong. I actually haven’t tried to plan a story and write it with the end in my mind. Maybe it’s not as boring as I think it would be.

So for this story that I’m writing, which is not a novel, I will stop now and plan for how it will finish. In the mean time, I will continue to write daily on many subjects related to writing and novels. And hopefully I will be able to pass the first mile stone, which is completing a story, no matter how it will suck.

Leave a Reply

